Southland Sketches

Antonín Dvořák

Quintet for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello in E-flat Major, Op. 97

Leonard Bernstein

Clarinet Sonata

Aaron Copland

Appalachian Spring Suite for Ensemble

Event Info

Presented by the Princeton University Concerts series. To purchase, and for a complete event listing, click here.

"New World Spirit"

Wu Han and David Finckel, Artistic Directors

Featuring Gloria Chien, Wu Han, Piano  I  Chad Hoopes, Kristin Lee, Danbi Um, Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin  I  Matthew Lipman, Paul Neubauer, Viola  I  Nicholas Canellakis, David Finckel, Cello  I Anthony Manzo, Bass  I  Ransom Wilson, Flute  I  David Shifrin, Clarinet  I  Marc Goldberg, Bassoon

This program begins 126 years ago and 910 miles away in the small town of Spillville, Iowa. Just as Princeton University Concerts is born, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák composes his String Quintet, Op. 97 in American farm-country. Drawing on folk tunes and spirituals—many of which he learned from his assistant, African-American composer Harry Burleigh—Dvořák set the stage for a new tradition of “American music.” Hear this lineage evolve in a program also featuring Leonard Bernstein’s very first published work, and culminating in one of the most beloved American masterpieces: Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring, in its original instrumentation. As a pupil of Dvořák’s student, Copland wrote this music for Martha Graham’s ballet celebrating American pioneers. We invite you to come celebrate the frontier of our rich cultural history as together we launch Princeton University Concerts' 126th season!