Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov


Julius Fučik

The Old Sore-Head (Der Alte Brummbär)

Franz Krommer

movements from Concerto for Two Clarinets, Op. 81

Camille Saint-Saëns

movements from Violin Concerto No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61

Édouard Lalo

movements from Symphonie espagnole, Op.21

Event Info

Princeton University Sinfonia presents a concert featuring Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade and a comic polka by Julius Fučik, The Old Sore-Head, as well as student soloists in movements from the Concerto for Two Clarinets, Op. 81, by Franz Krommer; Violin Concerto No. 3 by Camille Saint-Saëns, and Édouard Lalo's Symphonie espagnole.

Tickets $10 general admission/$5 students and seniors

About the Artist:

The Princeton University Sinfonia is an exciting musical outlet for undergraduate and graduate student musicians. Expanding every year, the orchestra now averages 55 members and performs one concert each semester in Richardson Auditorium with additional, smaller performances scheduled each year. Ruth Ochs has conducted Sinfonia for the past seven seasons, and she has been joined by selected undergraduates pursuing the Music Department’s certificate in musical performance in conducting.

Past concerts have included symphonies by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, and Tchaikovsky, as well as works by Bach, Bartók, Brahms, Dvorak, and Stravinsky. In May 2009, Sinfonia with the Princeton University Jazz Ensemble, Anthony D.J. Branker, director, commissioned and premiered a new work by Laurie Altman called In Another Time. Designed to have a more modest time commitment than other ensembles, Sinfonia pursues a high level of musicianship while also emphasizing the enjoyable and memorable aspects of performing wonderful music with others.