Edward Zhang ’19

Caverns, Op. 11 (world premiere)

Dmitri Shostakovich

Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 107: I. Allegretto

Sean-Wyn Ng ’21, cello
Lou Chen ’19, guest conductor

Max Bruch

Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26: III. Finale: Allegro energico

Abraham Chien 'GS, violin

W. A. Mozart

Act 1 finale from Die Gärtnerin aus Liebe, featuring members of MUS 214

Gloria Yin ’18, guest conductor

George Enescu

Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major, Op. 11

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18

John Hoffmeyer '19, piano

Event Info

In its first Richardson performance of the year, the Princeton University Sinfonia presents a concert featuring three soloists, three conductors, and one world premiere.

About the Artist:

The Princeton University Sinfonia is an exciting musical outlet for undergraduate and graduate student musicians. Expanding every year, the orchestra now averages 55 members and performs one concert each semester in Richardson Auditorium with additional, smaller performances scheduled each year. Ruth Ochs has conducted Sinfonia for the past seven seasons, and she has been joined by selected undergraduates pursuing the Music Department’s certificate in musical performance in conducting.

Past concerts have included symphonies by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, and Tchaikovsky, as well as works by Bach, Bartók, Brahms, Dvorak, and Stravinsky. In May 2009, Sinfonia with the Princeton University Jazz Ensemble, Anthony D.J. Branker, director, commissioned and premiered a new work by Laurie Altman called In Another Time. Designed to have a more modest time commitment than other ensembles, Sinfonia pursues a high level of musicianship while also emphasizing the enjoyable and memorable aspects of performing wonderful music with others.