Montagu James ’22

Three Short Pieces for Orchestra (world premiere)

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Concerto in F# Minor, Op. 20

Sergio De Iudicibus '20, piano

Giacomo Puccini

"Intermezzo" from Manon Lescaut

Edward Elgar

Cockaigne Overture (In London Town)

Event Info

Princeton University Sinfonia and its conductor Ruth Ochs present a varied concert that highlights some of Princeton’s most talented students. Opening with a world premiere of Three Short Pieces for Orchestra by Montagu James ’22, the ensemble continues with pianist Sergio De Iudicibus '20 and Scriabin's Piano Concerto in F-sharp Minor [music that "makes its immediate appeal to anyone sensitive to beauty" (The Musical Times)], before closing with Elgar's lively Cockaigne Overture.

Tickets $10 General/$5 Senior Citizens/$5 Students, available at the door. 

About the Artist:

The Princeton University Sinfonia is an exciting musical outlet for undergraduate and graduate student musicians. Expanding every year, the orchestra now averages 55 members and performs one concert each semester in Richardson Auditorium with additional, smaller performances scheduled each year. Ruth Ochs has conducted Sinfonia for the past seven seasons, and she has been joined by selected undergraduates pursuing the Music Department’s certificate in musical performance in conducting.

Past concerts have included symphonies by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, and Tchaikovsky, as well as works by Bach, Bartók, Brahms, Dvorak, and Stravinsky. In May 2009, Sinfonia with the Princeton University Jazz Ensemble, Anthony D.J. Branker, director, commissioned and premiered a new work by Laurie Altman called In Another Time. Designed to have a more modest time commitment than other ensembles, Sinfonia pursues a high level of musicianship while also emphasizing the enjoyable and memorable aspects of performing wonderful music with others.