My Work Focuses on: 
Contemporary Music Composition
My Other Interests Include: 
Piano literature, humor in music, Beethoven, tennis.


216 Woolworth
(609) 258-4244
More about Juri Seo

Juri Seo is a composer and pianist based in Princeton, New Jersey. She seeks to write music that encompasses extreme contrast through compositions that are unified and fluid, yet complex. She merges many of the fascinating aspects of music from the past century—in particular its expanded timbral palette and unorthodox approach to structure—with a deep love of functional tonality, counterpoint, and classical form. With its fast-changing tempi and dynamics, her music explores the serious and the humorous, the lyrical and the violent, the tranquil and the obsessive. She hopes to create music that loves, that makes a positive change in the world—however small—through the people who are willing to listen.

Her composition honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship from the University of Illinois, and the Otto Eckstein Fellowship from Tanglewood. She holds a D.M.A. (Dissertation: Jonathan Harvey's String Quartets, 2013) from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where she studied with Reynold Tharp. She has also attended the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome, corsi di perfezionamento with Ivan Fedele) and Yonsei University (Seoul, B.M.). Since 2009, she has been a composition fellow at the Tanglewood, Bang on a Can, and SoundSCAPE festivals, the Wellesley Composers Conference, and the Atlantic Center for the Arts. In Fall 2014, she joined the composition faculty at Princeton University as Assistant Professor. She currently teaches composition and counterpoint.


B.A. Yonsei University (Korea)

M.M., D.M.A University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Recognition & Awards

Guggenheim Fellowship, 2016; Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from American Academy of Arts and Letters 2013; Kate Neal Kinley Fellowship 2011; Otto Eckstein Fellowship from Tanglewood 2011