Jeffrey O. Snyder Director of Electronic Music; Director of the Princeton Laptop Orchestra

“I’m interested in the intersection of arts and engineering, and new perspectives and possibilities in the creation and experience of music.”

Jeff Snyder (b.1978) is a composer, improviser and instrument-designer living in Princeton, New Jersey, and active in the New York City area.

As founder and lead designer of Snyderphonics, Jeff designs and builds unusual electronic musical instruments. His creations include the Manta, which is played by over 150 musicians around the world; the JD-1 Keyboard/Sequencer, which was commissioned as a specialty controller for Buchla synthesizers; and the custom analog modular synthesizer on which he regularly performs.

Jeff is a member of experimental electronic duo exclusiveOr, avant jazz group The Federico Ughi Quartet , improvisatory noise trio The Mizries, and laptop ensemble Sideband. He fronts the band Owen Lake and the Tragic Loves as his electro-country alter-ego, Owen Lake. He also composes alternate-reality Early Music for an ensemble of his invented instruments.

In 2009, Jeff co-founded an experimental music record label, Carrier Records , which continues to release strange and exciting experimental music. In 2011, he received a doctorate with distinction in Music Composition from Columbia University. He is now the Director of Electronic Music at Princeton University, as well as Director of PLOrk , Princeton’s Laptop Orchestra.

B.A in Music Composition from University of Wisconsin-Madison

Doctor of Musical Arts (with distinction) in Music Composition from Columbia University

Princeton University, David A Gardner Magic Project Grant, 2016

Princeton University, Barr Ferree Publication Grant, 2016

Vermont Studio Center, David Bermant Foundation Fellowship for Kinetic and Sound Art, 2015

Princeton University, Council for Science and Technology Development Grant, 2015

Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Open Studio Artist Residency, 2014

Elektronmusikstudion (EMS Stockholm, Sweden), Guest Resident Composer, 2013

International Contemporary Ensemble, ICELab Composition Collaboration Commission, 2013

Computer Music Magazine, Innovation and Performance Award, 2009

Columbia University, Dissertation Fellowship, 2008-2009

Columbia University, Teaching Fellowship, 2003-2008

Cypress Semiconductor, Innovator Design Award, 2007

Columbia University, Summer Research Fellowship 2004, 2007

Columbia University, Music and Engineering Art Projects Summer Grant, 2006

University of Wisconsin, Hilldale Undergraduate Research Fellowship, 2001


All People